608 Comments

I am sure someone else mentioned this, but the link to Bri McKoy's sauce ebook does not work, and I cannot seem to find out where it is. Any one out there to help me?? I need SAUCE.

Expand full comment

Hi, friends! If me not getting to the comments until Monday isn't enough of an indication of how last week/weekend went, I'll tell you: reaaaaal rough, y'all. But we're here and I made it.

We are preparing to move - again, for the second time in two months. Our house ended up being ready far sooner than we expected and so we'll be moving out of the temporary place soon. We are stressing out about all of the financials of moving again so soon when we thought we had several more months (water, etc. deposits, renting the moving truck, taking time off work to move) The moving is going to be the worst but the new house will be the best.

I've been sleeping terribly and am on week two of a med adjustment and I am not loving it. I've swapped to half caf coffee at the suggestion of my doctor who also suggested I cut dairy and gluten so I'm a real peach to be around right now. But, I do feel mildly better so I guess I'll count it as a win.

Some treasures!

-Jillian's playlist! I missed this when it was originally shared but found it again in this week's comments and it has been the soundtrack to my work day. I'll take any available serotonin everytime.

-Great British Bake Off!!! Y'all. I love the Brits and I love baking and I had somehow not jumped onto this train yet. I put on Nadia's cooking show one day and then realized she was from GBBO so I was curious. The mini-recaps from Jamie and Knox had me sold. My dude bff and I now have a standing Friday night date and are all in on Team Lottie.

-My cat. I'm not sure if I've mentioned this but we took my sister's cat in for a (supposedly) temporary time. There is no way my husband will agree to give him back at this point and I am inclined to agree. Please enjoy these to moments.

https://twitter.com/clearlycarley/status/1318221683719798785

https://twitter.com/clearlycarley/status/1316170406211080192

-My library system got a huge grant for programming but COVID made that not possible and so now we get to use those funds for new books and I've been able to suggest diverse YA titles and it's like Christmas around here. A true treasure in the overwhelming day-to-day of working in a public library these days.

-Alicia Key's new memoir, but on audiobook!! If you've got access to your library's audiobooks or if you buy them, for sure check this one out.

-I snagged a copy of Hocus Pocus and Sleepy Hollow from our library donations shop.

-The We Got You Club. Y'all, I've been blessed by it before but I spent some time looking around to see if there was anything non-financial I could help with and there were several! I'm able to send a teacher a slew of YA books that got sent to me from publishers (I'm a librarian, and on an award committee). It feels so wonderful to be able to help someone else.

Expand full comment

In not really life crushing news but still important, I checked "links & such" from Insta highlights, do you have an affiliate or the like code for Olive & June? I mean, if I'm going to buy anyway...

Expand full comment

A rule I'd add is that it's actually totally normal for people to have different opinions about the same facts. I worked in the home department at a Fred Meyer every summer in college and I remember one day a co-worker saying that the nighttime tidy of the toy section was "the worst." I disagreed very offhandedly (I'm an e9; I never look for confrontation intentionally šŸ˜‚) and said I actually liked the toy section better than housewares. These were apparently fighting words. She could not let that opinion stand! She reminded me that it's always the most messed up section. That some action figures have the same upc but look completely different so you have to read the upc on each one! And don't get her started on the Lego wall! But the thing was, although everything she said was true--it was easily the messiest and most challenging section--it was also always the most interesting section to me. I didn't mind that I had to use my brain sometimes and the variety of products was just fun. I didn't mind it. What I didn't like was that the housewares section was so boring and so huge. And yet she was weirdly insistent that toys were factually the worst--not just for her, but for everybody. I think about that interaction a lot, even ten years later. The stakes were exceedingly low (and it was in fact in her favor for someone to like toys more than she did so she wouldn't have to do it) yet she could not concede that my opinion was legitimate. I sometimes wonder what that former coworker has been up to on social media lately. šŸ˜‚ Bless her.

Expand full comment

No new ideas here, just an Aha moment Iā€™ll share. For the past 5 years a sweet woman has been coming to weekly visit my mom. Mom is in hospice now and caring for her is both a privilege and a huge emotional drain, so the weekly visits offer me a break.

This week when Momā€™s friend came to visit, she talked to Mom about the current political situation. She and I are worlds apart on our views and I found myself getting angry inside. But then I thought about this friendā€™s consistency in visiting Mom, and her kindness and attention sheā€™s shown to my mom. She isnā€™t some evil awful person. I so often want to throw my hands up in disgust at those who think differently especially when it comes to politics. But this week I was reminded of what I already knew intellectually: wonderful people are on both sides of the aisle.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Hello all!

So this week has been very hard. I think for us the cumulative stress of constant uncertainty and waiting reached a tipping point. Weā€™re still hopeful about being able to return to France in the next 6 months, but I worry so much about the kids falling behind in school. I worry Iā€™m not g teaching them French adequately enough!

A turd: my grandmother passed away. I guess technically of COVID. Sheā€™s been in a nursing home for many years (5+ years). She took a turn 2 weeks ago and then passed away. She tested positive but didnā€™t have the symptoms, she was just unresponsive. So I guess that will count as COVID, but sheā€™s been declining for years because Of Alzheimerā€™s. Though It was a lovely funeral. My husband preached the message. And it was so nice to see family. It was a small gathering.

Treasure: my cousin brought her golden retriever who is 18 months old with her to see family. It was so fun to have a puppy around thatā€™s also full grown. Heā€™s so sweet! He doesnā€™t settle for simple belly rubs, this puppy insisted on full body hugs!! Gah! I could have played with him all day.

Expand full comment

Treasures: Comfortable Together - such good timing and beautiful fellowship! Also, physically distanced coffee on my porch with three neighbors this morning and we discussed the ballot issues for Colorado and our county. It felt good to be engaged citizens!

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Is this a safe place to confess that I've never seen a High School Musical?

Expand full comment

Two simple notes for me this week. Iā€™ve felt scattered. šŸ¤Ŗ

ā€” Treasure is *for sure* The Comfortable Words conversation and the readings themselves. Yes, itā€™s been a balm.

ā€” Trash is that I didnā€™t pre-order this Baby Yoda ornament last week before release and the price immediately went up on release day. šŸ˜– I donā€™t have a Hallmark store nearby and the price is irksome (read: prohibitive). I wants it! ā˜¹ļø

https://www.amazon.com/Hallmark-Keepsake-Christmas-Ornament-2020/dp/B084X4HL29

Thatā€™s it. Thatā€™s all I got. šŸ¤·šŸ»ā€ā™€ļø

Expand full comment

My husband and I got into a serious conversation šŸ˜‰ this week and it is continuing... I thought this might be the perfect place to ask for input.

If you were to make a list of people (from any country! for all of history!) of people who are generally liked by all, who would you put on it?

Some people that my husband and I both agree on-

Mr Rogers

Mother Teresa

Bob Ross

Who would you add?

Expand full comment

Y'all

I have been through it today.

Left work almost an hour later than planned due to IT issues.

Is this some universe flex because I called out the same IT dept for how they have been asking my team members on off shifts for their passwords and I called out their Ish?

It snowed here today.

I sent Danielle some proof

But now its sunny?

Again, big flex universe for showing we can indeed have all the seasons in one hour.

So.

This week was a lot. I'm not sure what was happening but it was like I couldn't quite get my usual focused bearings. It was like that jar of jam where the lid wasn't quite aligned to the threads and ridges but you sort of screwed it on anyway? That is my feeling about this week.

I was on 'the verge' of so many emotions all week

Where I cried from that feeling of relating to so much. Where I cried from frustration, relief, rage, wanting to do more, helplessness, wishing teleportation was a thing.

I have a SUPER short commute to the office (about 1.5 miles), basically 3 stop signs and 4 stop lights. But just enough of a commute to cry this morning while singing along with Tracy Chapman's "Fast Car" this morning

link: https://youtu.be/DwrHwZyFN7M

And then I was also teary earlier this week whilst hearing "Cough Syrup"

link: https://youtu.be/UAsTlnjvetI

Tomorrow we leave for our weekend in Duluth!

link: https://www.visitduluth.com/

Now, it's also supposed to snow there.

I know I wanted a "chill" weekend, but this was not what I had in mind. In October. *laughs*

I plan to bring knitting, books and catch up on podcasts.

But I was SO happy to see my dad text me and say he got last minute vaca days for 2 of the days we will be there. And Saturday he's bringing take out from...

Link: https://omcsmokehouse.com/menu/eat/

I basically want the whole menu.

I didn't even make my typical list of all the things this week. But I want to toss out some big time amazing moments off the cuff.

1. Losing my Ish in a good way over Saucy Puds, watching the Bachelorette Live (HIMMMMBOS HIIIMBO HIIIMBO!), and then the recaps. Between Popcast and I Hate Green Beans, the recaps might make me break a rib giggling.

2. Cobra Kai

3. Finishing 2 scarves and mailing them to Swipers (Lydia and Kelise, watch your mail next week!)

4. Staring hats for another Swiper (Sarah!) and a shawlette (Sharon)

5. Costco & Trader Joe Macarons

6. The friends I am really solidifying through this community. The hope of new friends I am making here. This corner of the internet gives me a level of hope that I cannot thank y'all enough for

Be well

Hug your people

Mel

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Hi friends! My treasure is that I am house-sitting this weekend and recorded about 10 Hallmark movies on their TV to binge as I finish first quarter grades and do just about nothing else this weekend. I don't have cable, so Hallmark all weekend has become my house-sitting tradition. I love some high caliber, thoughtful movies and TV, but I also LOVE the rules and patterns of a Hallmark movie. Anyone else?!

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Hi, everyone!

Um, treasures...Iā€™ve been reading a lot and watching Schittā€™s Creek, which took me a while to get into, but I fell in love at the season two finale and Iā€™m now parceling out the remaining episodes to get me through 2020.

My almost seven year old daughter has been very helpful and just maturing a lot lately and thatā€™s neat to see.

So, turd...I was going to say that a treasure has been our new Collie pup, Moony. Sheā€™s adorable and cute and full of personality. Sheā€™s also been throwing up since we got her two weeks ago. My husband took her to a vet today (ours is closed because somebody tested positive for Covid-19) and it turns out she has an esophageal condition that likely means she will have a short (and difficult) life span. Guys, we love her, but we canā€™t do this again. We literally had to put our last puppy down in January for a crippling genetic deformity. My husband and I are heartbroken and our kids are going to be heartbroken no matter what we do. Weā€™re trying to see now if the breeder will take her back because we just...we canā€™t do this again. 2020 man. It sucks. If you pray, please pray for us to make the right decision and...I donā€™t even know.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

This week I am particularly grateful for the lectio 365 app and the comfortable words by Erin. I've been listening to each daily and they have been a balm to my spirit.

I had blood tests and a flu jab yesterday so am very grateful for the NHS and the fact that I could get the flu jab in out local supermarket pharmacy for Ā£8.

https://www.instagram.com/tv/CGXlr0gnaFG/?igshid=19sf9pxycllhd this is a delight I love Henry Winkler, this boy is wonderful and the drew Barrymore show is very sweet

This week was the last series of Kipo and the Wonderbeasts and it was such a good ending. If you have children or just like a sweet programme then the investigators on Netflix is for you. Lastly, I've been watching Columbo from the start and it's so good. Highly recommended.

On social media etiquette I'd add if you imagine what you are posting is to your beloveds it often gives you pause as to how to phrase your words. And I try to go with the is this good, is this true is this helpful? For both what I post and what I consume. It really has made a difference.

And I now I said lastly but I've just remembered something. If you're able to listen to it on BBC Radio 2 they have a daily pause for thought where someone of faith (or no faith) gives a commentary less than 3 minutes of something they've learned and it is always good and often thought provoking. I hope you all have the best weekend possible.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Lil Swipes! What a week it's been. Idk about you but when people come for those I love on the internet, I turn into an unhealthy enneagram two (which doesn't make any sense because I am a 1w9) so I've ordered more books and clicked on more links and saved more instagram posts than ever before.

1. Erin, I am working on a guidance lesson for middle schoolers on how to communicate well virtually and wow you have provided quite a framework. My current hypothetical argument is ehh, so I think I may change to something dated (to them) and pop culture-y to spark their interest. Kids love nothing more than being put in a position where they can call me lame.

2. (TW: Having children, family planning- I know that Infant Loss Awareness Day was this week and want to be sensitive to that) The ā€œChildless Millennialā€ episode of the Be There in Five podcast has helped put a voice to so much of what Iā€™ve been feeling over the past year. I told my husband last month, ā€œI wish everybody would just stay out of my uterusā€. Meaning, I have a lot of folks in my life who love me, care about me, know that I want to have kids sometime in life, but wonā€™t stop it with the pressure. HELLO Iā€™m 3/4ths of the way through grad school! Would you let me enter the desired job market for just a brief moment before I start growing a whole entire human inside of me?! Iā€™ve now taken to interviewing people that have kids but havenā€™tā€¦ suddenly turned into people who think they hung the actual moon in the skyā€¦ and asked them how they did that. The staying grounded. The not being infuriating. Not turned into those vending machine aliens from Toy Story with their child being the equivalent of Buzz Lightyear. THEY HAVE NO ANSWERS. This is like when Sooki was 28 months pregnant like an elephant in Gilmore Girls and got mad thinking that all mom were keeping the birth-giving secrets from her. Ugh anywho... Happy to read any and all thoughts that anyone has to share on this, as a parent or non-parent.

3. The above two should probably reveal to you that I amā€¦ a budding counselorā€¦ who is extremely in need of my own personal counseling. Donā€™t worry, Iā€™m in the process of fixing that.

4. Dick Johnson is Dead. It was Jamie's green light either this week or last. I walked through dementia and the eventual passing of my grandmother a few years ago, and have married into a family where they have never experienced either of those- but are starting to. I've recommended it to all of my sis/bro-in-laws because it is great for processing feelings but also a great example of how to deal with someone whose memory is changing. The daughter is fantastic in the way she speaks to her dad and others. Highly recommend watching now even if you think it doesn't relate to your experiences and then watching again later if those topics become relevant to your life.

5/Lastly. This tiktok... truly made my husband cry of laughter. https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMJ5HFtKj/

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Hello Lil' Swipes! Happy Friday!

It was delightful to see Erin Moon 3 times in my inbox this morning! Such a treasure.

"And if you would, well, I went to cotillion and I know thatā€™s bad manners so maybe talk to Jesus." This is a whole mood and I am HERE for it!!!! My standard Internet Rule is "What would my Mama think/say if I post this?" or like I tell my children when I remind them to THINK before they speak...

T - Is it true?

H - Is it helpful?

I - Is it inspiring or important?

N - Is is necessary?

K- Is it kind?

On to treasures!

First Tea Olives, now 1400 year old Ginkgo Tree! All the heart eyes.

My birthday was this week and while I missed dinner out or in with friends it was such a great day. Spoiled by my husband and children, messages from family and friends and a dinner time call from my mom to play "Birthday" by The Beatles at top volume (a family tradition).

Spending time with the words and wisdom of Comfortable Words and the words and wisdom of the people in the group go through has been so good for my soul.

On a much shallower note...THE BACHELORETTE IS BACK! I cannot remember the last time I actually watched and episode of the show, but I love listening to Knox & Jamie recap it.

Finally my wandering, yogi, gypsy soul friend, Megan has found herself furloughed and with extra time on her hands and has channeled it into her online version of EveryBody Yoga with Megan ) and as someone who has always liked the idea of Yoga but honestly found a lot of the leaders to be too "woo-woo" for me to take seriously Megan is just the right mix of Woo and Southern Sass. Lots to like, but my favorite this week has been the 30 seconds of zen post she's been sharing on Instagram this week. It's been so good to hit those mid social scroll and be gifted a directed breathing or stretch for a moment. https://www.instagram.com/p/CGVBo_UAV2i/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

Looking forward to finding more treasures from all of you! Have a great week.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Happy Friday Swipes!!

āœˆ Getting on a plane today for the first time since last November. Heading to VA for my cousin's wedding at a vineyard. I'm excited, scared, nervous and anxious all at the same time. I hope it's a small turnout and we all make as smart decisions as we can for ourselves. I've got middle seats both ways so T&Ps for me & my mask.

šŸˆ FNL: ALMOST to the end of S2- no time for excess tv this week as I've become obsessed with The Masked Singer and picked up DWTS this year. Tim Riggins' arms have stood out in this update--- I have to wipe up the drool that collects when those arms come onto the screen. Lo and behold I discovered Matt Czuchry is on this show!!??!!?? what the WHAT? I first met Matt through The Good Wife, the binged GG and now FNL? Who knew he was hiding just below the surface of my pop culture education. I do like him & Lyla, but just want her & Riggins to get together again.

šŸŒ¹šŸŒ¹šŸŒ¹ The Bachelorette is back!!!!! Same with the Popcast recaps! Praise BE!

šŸ‚ Trader Joes Pumpkin Waffles for the win today-- cinnamon sugar is the perfect topper. :)

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Rule 0: Ask yourself if it will serve you to engage with someone online? Is it useful, is it true, is it kind? (This is a subtweet to myself.)

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Good Morning Lil' Swipe Friends! I don't post often, but read and laugh and pray along with all of you. This week brings treasure and worry. I launched a nonprofit (www.heartfelthelpfoundation.com) a couple of months ago, and we just launched a fundraising campaign. I am so grateful for this opportunity to express my gratitude for my own heart transplant in a tangible way. We've got two clients awaiting their heart transplants that need our help. Not asking for anything but prayer from all of you to cover these two worthy people and prayer that we will get the funding we need to help them.

Expand full comment

My personal treasure for the week was that my husband and I finally finished the worksheet necessary for putting together our will. We started this process about seven years ago and the whole thing got stalled in a fierce debate over who would be guardian to our children. There is nothing more difficult than trying to decide on hypothetical futures. Also, at the last minute I left my dogs to my sister and I can't decide if she would enjoy that surprise or if I should tell her in advance?

Aside from that I'm not organized enough to keep track of my internet treasures. I'm sorry. There was a video of pandas sliding down a slide which I found very soothing. I survived the birthday of on of my children this week which always feels like an impossible feat. Why are birthdays so hard for me? I don't know. Yesterday, I had to cut the drone that child received as a gift from first my daughter's hair and then my own. I didn't respond well to that situation. But today is a new day. And the drone appears to be broken. So praise God for small miracles.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Is my first comment on the little swipes page so Iā€™m definitely not dropping any turds today, only treasures!

šŸ’ŸI have been binge watching Intervention, and I got an unexpected treasure this week. Iā€™ve always been fascinated by that show and I donā€™t really know why, but I think it has something to do with the unimaginable transparency and vulnerability of the people on there. And a group of people loving someone at his or her worst and reaching out to offer help and hope. I think it reminds me of Jesus. But this song was playing at the end of one episode and I asked Siri to tell me who sings it. I downloaded it on my phone and have been listening to it all week. We all have some kind of monsters in our head, whether it be anxiety or mental illness, or just being overwhelmed with this year, and this song really spoke to me: https://youtu.be/sdyPT2PPiHI

šŸ’ŸAfter my second freaking foot surgery in six months (same foot, long story šŸ˜’) in six months, not being able to drive for 6 weeks, and needing infinitely more parental support at 37 years old than I ever imagined, I am taking my first road trip BY MYSELF this afternoon!! I would absolutely do a happy dance externally, but Iā€™m still trying to follow doctorā€™s orders with my foot so Iā€™m dancing internally. I would absolutely do a happy dance externally, but Iā€™m still trying to follow doctorā€˜s orders with my foot so Iā€™m dancing internally. I am currently taking suggestions for songs to listen to on my road trip, and or Podcasts that would be entertaining (already obsessed with the Popcast and Bible Binge šŸ˜).

šŸ’ŸVery grateful (I want to say ā€œGrateful, Thankful, Blessedā€ like a Hobby Lobby sign, but ew) for this community and the Comfortable Words community, which I kind of think are a lot of the same people, and I feel like we would be besties in real life. The kind of friends where we would just go to each otherā€™s houses and drink a ā€œdranky drinkā€ and maybe take naps. And thatā€™s the kind of trend energy I need right now. Even if itā€™s online. ā¤ļø

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

The innate joy I feel in this newsletter cannot be hidden. Whether itā€™s the valuable resources or the amazing use of the HSM franchise to prove a point, this is exactly what I need after a long week. You, Erin Moon, are a treasure.

Expand full comment

For followers of Christ only: Filter your post or comment through this question: would this glorify God and my witness? No it doesnā€™t always have to be a religious or theological post. But will it portray what I preach? Will it give non believers ammo to say ā€œyep thatā€™s what Iā€™d expect from a Christianā€ I wanna smack some of my believer friends and say ā€œyou are a light in this world. Is that being a light?ā€ Itā€™s no wonder many turn their back on Christ when seeing how His followers respond.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

I 100% agree about HSM2 vs the rest. I thought I was the only one. Thanks for sharing!

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Morning everyone! I always look forward to the Swipe up on Fridays. It's become a ritual to get my kids off to school and sit down to read the lovely comments and witness the support and love on here. WITH a cup of coffee of course. Today as i sat down to write a coyote stood 10 ft from my window and took a leak. I live in a very suburban neighborhood on a very busy road and I do not know what he was doing on my lawn. I had just come in from a walk with my new puppy too, so i had just missed him. A minute later, my neighbor walked over to warn me about it, said he's seen them carry away a cocker spaniel. One more thing to worry about! One good thing is a trainer came out yesterday, and dog is already behaving better. Much calmer and only accidently bit one crotch this morning! He even licked my son when he came downstairs instead of biting his pants! I never share links to anything on the interwebs even though i spend way too much time on it, but it all just blurs together and turns into one huge waste of time. Forgive me little swipes! I hope its ok. I don't really have a ton to share, but it's been a long emotionally charged week, and I'm just happy to be sitting here reading everyone's shares. I appreciate all of you! Have a great weekend friends!

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

This whole week was a turd. Anyone who works in schools knows that the shorter weeks always feel the longest, BUT I did the new Hamilton Peloton ride last night (Jillian and I will be doing it next week once she gets her bike, if anyone else wants to join us!) and I actually cried in it. Not because it was hard or anything, I was just so happy. I think I'm going to do the run (definitely NOT a runner, but I just love Ham so much) and the yoga class (also v not into yoga, but alas) this weekend.

One thing getting me through this week is the promise of the Penny and Sparrow live stream concert tonight. I'm going to make homemade pizza, drink lots of margs, and probably cry because their voices are so beautiful. Their Live in Texas, 2019 album has been SAVING ME during remote learning.

Also, a treasure and a turd for me lately is that I've finally adulted and created a budget. Like a legit budget. I always had a loose one in my head, but I signed up for YNAB and seeing it all laid out brings me such satisfaction and peace. The turd part comes in when I had to shuffle stuff around just so I could buy a ticket to the P&S concert AND be able to buy my weekly Harry Potter film (I've been buying one movie a week on Amazon Video for my weekly Sabbath film because I'm sick of chasing them around on various streaming platforms and I just want to have them forever), but I feel like a responsible adult with financial plans and goals and such.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Thank you for sharing your internet rules, Erin. It's so easy to assume any number of terrible things about someone based on one post. I learned how it felt when people replied to my instagram story worried about my salvation when I shared my opinion on family separation. My inclination was then to question *their* salvation, and even though I didn't say anything, it's colored our interactions ever since. I'd rather respond differently in the future.

Survived the half marathon, y'all. Did it go super well? Not really, but I finished and that's all that matters at this point :) Having just moved to Florida in June, I wasn't expecting it to still be 90 degrees in October. The Lord humbled me and I needed it.

For treasures, I actually have physical items to share this week! I'm not much of a shopper, but a pair of sunglasses I got from Target broke and I had 3 days left in my 90-day window to return them. Pop pop!! So, I replaced them with this pair: https://www.target.com/p/women--39-s-cateye-plastic-metal-combo-sunglasses---a-new-day--8482--off-white/-/A-78141060 I feel like a queen when I wear them.

Also, I went nuts and got two shirts: https://www.target.com/p/women--39-s-short-sleeve-v-neck-t-shirt---universal-thread--8482--brown-s/-/A-78315364 in brown and blue/white and I'm in love! They're nothing super fancy, but just the boost I needed to continue changing out of my pajamas in the morning. The work from home life is too real lately.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Life has been given...thank you...I now will go have the best day available to me.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

I generally follow a rule of never ever read the comments, particularly on Facebook, and never comment. Last week however, I chose the low stakes issue of abortion to engage on and I've regretted it ever since. I'm sure I did not change any minds and still feel gross about it. I talked to my mom about it and she said "arguing in the comments isn't activism". Anyway I've been thinking about that comment a lot, and how I can tangibly contribute to things I care about, rather than just feeling sanctimonious on the Internet.

On a very unrelated note, I stashed a container of candy corn and peanuts in my bedroom, for when I want a treat and don't want to share. I'm feeling very good about that šŸ˜‚

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

My treasures this week...

My 12 year old son. He's autistic and an absolute joy. He's very upset that we are going to school in the "middle of a deadly world wide pandemic" but handling it like a champ. So far this year he's brought plastic shot glasses to drink water from because he didn't like the straw of his water bottle, told one teacher he wanted to be a bartender when he grows up, wrote a poem for another teacher stating he is paralyzed from the waist down (he is not), and told a PE coach to 'stop patronizing' him when the coach cheered even through his volleyball serve did not go over the net.

Expand full comment

Oh my gracious! I want to be Mrs. McCain when I grow up!

Expand full comment

Hey everybody! Thank you so much for your kind encouragement re: last week's depression realization. It was definitely "a God thing" for several reasons I'd like to share! First of all, my workload increased exponentially this week, which always weirdly makes me feel less depressed than I actually am because I HAVE to get stuff done at work -- it's urgent. I think if I hadn't figured out what was going on last week, this week would have obscured the truth from myself. It also helped that Mental Health Day was Saturday, thus underscoring that it's ok to not be ok. Lastly, I started to look into finding a counselor last Friday and got quickly overwhelmed because all the therapists that were personally recommended to me did not take my insurance and were out of my price range (Three Kids in Daycare is the title of my current YNAB budget). I finally called 5 therapists from my insurance list basically blind. 2 called back. The first one who called, I booked. TURNS OUT she was the same therapist the women in my marriage development group I was a part of in last year had all raved about to me, and I had just forgotten. WHAT. So I meet her on Monday! Praise God!

My mood has been generally better this week due to the work keeping me busy, and also I implemented a few practices I think are helping. I've been diligent to turn on good music while I work, take two 10-minute walks a day, and started scheduling time on my calendar to dedicate to long-term projects I can never seem to get to. All that to say I think we're starting to turn a corner with major thanks to my Lil Swipes buds. *feeling loved emoji*

Erin, I loved all your rules for engagement! I think one I would add is Examine Why You Want to Comment. What is your intent? Is it to dunk on someone? Is it because your initial outrage needs an outlet? Or are you trying to better understand their views? I find myself leaning towards the former 2 (and am guilty of assuming someone is uneducated if they don't share my perspective). So it helps me if I keep on keeping on and then later, if I decide my comment is still needed, I can go back to that person's post and comment.

A few treasures!

1. I finally finished researching my ballot, which was hanging over my head like a giant unfinished project! Early voting is going on, so I've got about to week to find some time to head to the polls. I used a combo of candidate websites/Facebook pages, vote411, our local newspaper, and state newspaper endorsements to help me decide. Yay civil duties!

2. This "vintage" Water Lily & Orchid Native deodorant scent smells so good! I started a stick of it this week: https://www.nativecos.com/products/water-lily-orchid-deo-sensitive

3. Jillian's playlist from last week has GIVEN ME LIFE. Listen if you didn't last week! https://open.spotify.com/playlist/063Lfg322sVwc8lQDVwkUc?si=6hF25ctISzSx_yaf5HWsVQ

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

My daughter is big time creative energy, but doesnā€™t have a ton of patience for the more traditional school subjects. So, I was relieved to hear at her virtual P/T conference this week that sheā€™s on track and doing well. Thinking of having a ā€œYayy! Youā€™re doing your best and thatā€™s all thatā€™s ever required!ā€ celebration tonight, but thatā€™s a little wordy to fit on a banner. šŸ™ŒšŸ»šŸŽ‰

And in other school-related news, we got word this week that they will be letting the kids come back 4 days a week starting mid-November, and I shed actual tears. So maybe weā€™ll also try to squeeze, ā€œI love you so much, but I was never meant to be a teacherā€ on that banner.

Treasures:

- this sweet moment with Dwayne Wade https://www.instagram.com/p/CGYp64ZnI-t/?igshid=122z28819q66

- if you need a healthy cry, John Legend singing this song for Chrissy should do the trick: https://youtu.be/b1UkquKdJng

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Good morning! I have treasures!

šŸŽ£ After four different family members contributing materials, three years, two attempts at hanging, and one tetanus shot, I finally completed a project for my sonā€™s room. I have barnwood from my in-laws place and attached it to make a...plaque? I dunno, a thing to hang on the wall. Then I tied fishing lures that had belonged to both of my grandfathers and a great uncle who was like a grandfather (all who have passed away) and attached them to said barnwood and it is now hanging in my little manā€™s room.

šŸ§® I mentioned over in Comfortable Together that Iā€™m a CPA and have recently had a tax deadline. Not only did I survive said tax deadline but I got an email from my boss yesterday (it was addressed to all four of the tax people in the firm) that said essentially, thanks for your hard work, Friday is a holiday for all of you so put 8 hours of admin on your timesheet and enjoy the day off. This, by itself, is just so kind. But when you factor in the fact that (a) I was already taking half day Wednesday and all day Thursday and Friday off (without pay) for my sonā€™s fall break, and (b) that three of the four of us (myself included) are essentially part time, meaning we donā€™t get paid if we arenā€™t there, the word that immediately popped into my head was grace. He didnā€™t have to do that, especially for those of us who wouldnā€™t have been there anyway. It was such a nice surprise.

Now Iā€™m off to enjoy some FINALLY cool weather here in Oklahoma. Happy weekend, fellow swipes!

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

I can't handle the turds today, so I'm focusing on the treasures...

Today is my kids last day of virtual school, so I'm throwing them (and me) a party. Cake, balloons, the whole thing.

I've become super invested in the Seahorse and Serpent on The Masked Singer. Who are these angelic singers?! Is this what the pandemic has done to me?

I just started Mrs. Maisel, and I think I'm hooked. Shout out to my brother for sharing his Prime account with me.

Also Erin, I know "you didn't even talk about Zombies," but now I need to know your thoughts on it. The soundtrack is all my poor Alexa knows. "Someday" is on repeat in my head for most of the days. I don't know what other adult to talk about this with...

Expand full comment

Just going straight to the treasures -

- this twitter thread my husband sent me: https://twitter.com/TalkingSchmidt/status/1315785468122988544

- I am super excited to start bringing this book on outdoor adventures with my kids https://www.ravenbookstore.com/book/9781615194803 It'll probably end up being mostly for me, but that's okay.

- I keep staring at Shadow & Light by Tsh Oxenrider https://www.ravenbookstore.com/book/9780736980609 (it's so pretty!) and getting excited for Advent.

- I made these cookies this week (minus the craisins - no dried fruit in cookies, please and thank-you) https://stellinasweets.com/2014/10/05/baked-sunday-mornings-pumpkin-harvest-dunking-cookies/ and have been having one with coffee in the mid mornings and such joy is had. You do have to chill the dough, which makes them a "need to plan" cookie vs. a spontaneous "I need homemade cookies NOW" cookie, but they were worth the extra effort.

- My husband and father-in-law took my boys camping last weekend and I had 36 hours to myself in my own home. RARE. What did I do? I hacked my crying by watching Frozen 2. GUYS. IT IS BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE. Olaf acting out the first Frozen was <chef's kiss>.

- Comfortable Together has been such a joy. Thanks for putting that together, Erin. I've re-discovered the healing that comes from journaling my thoughts and prayers.

Can't wait to read all of your treasures! Have a great weekend!

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Good morning, Swipes! Was hoping to do more of an intro, but alas, my little humans are in a major Friday mood. I will say re: social media - the manifesto is perfection. I guess one of my unspoken rules for myself is to do my best to stay away from comments (IG, articles, etc.). I honestly canā€™t imagine responding to anyone - tbh my stomach hurts thinking about it šŸ˜… (lol hi Iā€™m a 9), but man, those comment sections can leave you in a puddle of despair at the heartlessness of humanity. SO, no thanks.

I did write out a short list of treasures throughout the week, so here we go:

ā­ļøMy husband and I finally finished The Good Place last weekend. šŸ™ I miss the characters already. And I already mentioned my 9-ness, but to add to that, my husband has never compared me to a TV show character more than he compared me to Chidi. šŸ˜‚

ā­ļøAlso finally started the podcast 1619. I cannot emphasize its importance enough. My best friend and I are listening separately and discussing over Marco Polo. Highly recommend a podcast club. šŸ‘

ā­ļøIn honor of Penny & Sparrowā€™s live show tonight, which band(s) do you want to see as soon as we can go to shows again?!

For me, itā€™s (obviously) Penny & Sparrow, aaaand MUNA, Joy Oladokun, Taylor Swift, and johnnyswim.

Wishing everyone a restful weekend. šŸ’—

Expand full comment

I'm keeping this to a highlights only reel this week :-)

1) By God's grace and quite possibly a lot of professorial grade curving, I made a B on my Philosophy mid term. The majority of the test was automatically graded, so this is not my 'Eeyore-ness', it is just a fact: I barely cleared a D at first glance. I thoroughly enjoyed paying no attention to my class for my fall break and now I am slowly attempting to continue on, learn what I can, and #justfinish (the mantra for 2020, amiright?)

2) I don't know how many Treasures are sports fans, but I have loved the Atlanta Braves for almost all of my life, and this shortened baseball season and their full force run at the playoffs is bringing me nothing but joy. I stayed up wayyyyy too late last night to watch them win (they are up three games! Nobody predicted this) and was practically in tears at the end. I have no idea how this bookish nerdy girl fell in love with baseball decades ago but my boys are bringing me such joy. (Side note: several of the Braves are VERY easy on the eyes, so that is helpful;-) Also, these games are destroying my school/study time, so there is that.)

3) I keep a bag in my car for my kids' masks so I never have to hunt them down... but I was misplacing mine! Enter these super cute mask chains where at least I don't lose them if I am wearing them:https://modishdesign.co/products/vegas-mask-chain (they have fancier ones and even some kid appropriate ones as well).

4) My birthday is next week. My husband asked me to find a birthday present for myself last night, and I decided I wanted my first pair of Rothys. Buuutttttt apparently everyone who wears size 7-7.5 ALSO love Rothys, and there was nothing I wanted available. My husband, being an enneagram five and a much more efficient shopper than my indecisive 9, promptly found the perfect pair for my birthday from The Root Collective, and I couldn't be more excited. It's truly wonderful to be known and loved so well. (If you need some shoes to make you happy in 2020, here they are:https://therootcollective.com/collections/flats/products/gaby-flat-in-mustard)

Grace and peace, fellow Treasures.

Expand full comment

Love all of this!!

The link for the sauce E book didnā€™t work, boooo. Maybe itā€™s my phone?

Happy Friday friends. Letā€™s have the best day available to us. šŸ’•

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

My number one coping strategy for social media lately has been snoozing/hiding people from my newsfeed. I just find it too difficult to engage in a productive, in-person conversation with people who I deeply care about after Iā€™ve seen the things that get said/shared on the internets. I find myself gearing up for specific in-person interactions with my debate points ready to fire, which means Iā€™m not actually listening or hearing what the other person is saying. Not sure itā€™s the best strategy, but for the amount of emotional and mental energy I have available right now- internet ignorance is allowing me to better love people in person.

Treasures this week:

1. We got a new fridge!! Our old one came with the house and was in rough shape (some fun features included the fridge door not closing completely, so that it was both super energy efficient and also a fun activity for the oldest little wild woman to find random hot sauce bottles to carry around the house). We saved for a year, ordered a new fridge in June and itā€™s finally here! šŸ™Œ

2. My mother-in-law usually watches the little wild women on the one day a week that I go into the office, but she is on a trip with her sisters this week. October-December is my busiest time of the year at work, and I was feeling really overwhelmed at the prospect of missing a day in the office. My husband volunteered to take a vacation day and stay home with the girls. So yesterday, he had Dad Day and took them to a local farm that has all kinds of fall stuff (pumpkin patch, barn full of hulled corn, petting zoo, slides made out of farm equipment, etc). Iā€™m just so thankful to have a husband who is such a great dad and truly a partner in this life.

3. The little wild women are going through a pushing/fighting phase (*please let it be a phase*) but there are little glimmers of them becoming friends that fill me with such hope (and sometimes tears). Most recently, we were driving somewhere and the youngest was tired and NOT interested in being in the car, and the oldest sang her a little lullaby. šŸ˜­

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

I donā€™t follow people only to uphold my already deeply held beliefs. I follow people of different experiences and belief systems to learn. That is why, when I read a comment that insults and ā€œcorrectsā€ I wonder why the follower is there. Is it news to you that this account is in complete opposition to your worldview? Did you get here by mistake? If so, move on. If youā€™re here on purpose because you think this account has value, then sit still and listen.

Expand full comment

Today the treasure is that CFA takes apple pay. I just drove all the way to work at 6 am, expecting to grab coffee and a breakfast sandwich on my way to arrive promptly at 6:30. (I get there earlier than everyone else so I can leave early.) Got all the way here, 30 minutes from my home, and realized I donā€™t have my wallet. My local coffee shop doesnā€™t take apple pay. So chick fil a it is. Cant wait for the weekend because THIS IS JUST TOO MUCH FOR ME THIS WEEK.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

I havenā€™t watched it yet but I know in my soul that that documentary on butter is what I need in my life today. Any recs for where to get a drive thru loaf of fresh bread?

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Hi friends!

I'm here for the the internet engagement commandments. I would also add, give it time. Walk away for an hour or two and see if you still feel like saying something. Sometimes we all just caught up in the moment.

Treasures for this week include:

āœØ I got watch a friend watch Hamilton for the first time Saturday. We laughed, we cried, we sat on the edge of my furniture with great anticipation. She was flabbergasted at the talent she saw on display. At the conclusion, she said "I felt like I just felt every emotion over the course of three hours". We also had a fall themed charcuterie board that was just *chef's kiss*. It was complete with apple cider mimosas (thank you for that recipe, Sarah!) and cinnamon swirl chocolate chip pumpkin butter bread šŸ˜

āœØI forgot to share this last week, but "Better than We Found it" by Maren Morris has been getting me through https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4rr6LewdIU&ab_channel=MarenMorrisVEVO

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4rr6LewdIU&ab_channel=MarenMorrisVEVO

āœØThe comfortable together community has been such a gift this week. I echo Erin's sentiments about it feeling like a balm for my soul.

āœØThe bachelorette came back did week as did the recaps! šŸ™ŒšŸ™ŒšŸ™ŒšŸ™Œ A friend and I watched it over the phone on Wednesday. We laughed just as much about us trying to sync or devices to be close to the same spot as we did about the awkward intros, Clare's clichĆ©s, and alllllll of those cropped pants.

āœØ I was more intentional about taking my afternoon walks this week, thanks to our conversations about biblical rest. It helped.

Happy Friday, friends! I'm glad we all made it through another week and can be here together. šŸ’•

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

First off, Erin, your Rule for Internet Engagement #2 reminds me of a new term I learned this week, which is called Sealioning. Have you heard of that? I wish Iā€™d understood the term and what to look for before painstakingly laying out education in hopes that the questioner was sincerely there to learn. And in regards to #4, The Real Life Test, letā€™s please apply that to call centers as well. I used to work at one, and the things people would say to me (I assume because I was in their eyes an inanimate object to direct frustrations on)....

The French butter dude video was enjoyed greatly in my house, as we love all things butter. And I am in love with the Dance Theatre of Harlem students, especially the one dude whose movements are just the slightest bit off ...heā€™s me. I feel a close personal connection.

I love that video of the Nobel Neighbors. So much. What a blessing to start my day with. Thank you for these.

I returned two of my four kidsā€™ devices to their school and officially withdrew them this week. The other two are doing fine with virtual learning, but these two caught me on every. Single. Thing. I tried so hard to make it work. But going back to homeschool, as weā€™d done 3 years ago when I only had one school-age, felt in my heart like one more desperate attempt to ā€œbe normalā€ and not feel like an outsider had been thwarted. So I cried. But they love doing school with me, without screens. And I love not having to police usage of 4 devices. My friend encouraged me by saying ā€œyouā€™re adapting to life circumstances! Youā€™re a chameleon!ā€ which she meant as a joke, but I took as a compliment and very healthy perspective.

So you. Youā€™re not failing. Youā€™re not a quitter for trying another way. Youā€™re a chameleon. I wish I had lil treasures to share, but linking is hard. šŸ˜†

Expand full comment

Writing this comment from Still-In-Bed which is a whole mood this week.

I have a heaviness from the weight of the election and just feeling so hamstrung and incapable of gathering the information I need to make *my* choice. Not my parents choice. Not my boyfriends choice (though thankfully we run pretty much the same politicswise) Not my friends choice. *MY* choice.

And at the same time i feel incapable of praying through my anxiety about it, and other stuff. Which I know I should be doing daily. So I stagnate and lay in bed with the covers over my head trying to deal and failing.

So thereā€™s the Turd.

That and the anxiety I have about the possibility of hurting the Boy. What if we start talking about SeriousThings ā„¢ļø and we come to an impasse and we have to part ways? I donā€™t want to go through that Sad, but even more I donā€™t want him to go through that Sad. Heā€™s had enough sad.

I known logically that if we have to part ways itā€™s for the best and I would be okay. Itā€™s better to listen to those things NOW on this side of marriage than face them for the first time once weā€™ve committed lives to each other.

Bear in mind this is all a hypothetical that Iā€™m freaking out over. But things are going well. Surely thereā€™s road bumps ahead?

But Treasures. There are still those.

- one was the 16 hour road trip the Boy and I made to pick up a wheelchair van for his dad. Half was spent together in the truck talking and jamming to music. He put on Hamilton (theatre kidddd) and i faced the choice of a) letting loose and being my normal weird self singing to Hamilton in the car or b) saving both his ears and my pride and not exposing my self so fully to him šŸ˜‚ i kinda fell in the middle... but mercies being new everyday, when the Winter Ball transition into Helpless came on and the inevitable shoulder shrugging and eyebrow wiggling to the flirty ā€œhey hey hey heyā€ came out, I looked over at my Boy as we drove through the Mark Twain national forest and he was right there vibing with me and I have never liked him more. šŸ˜‚ I didnā€™t sing Helpless AT him, but I could have.

The other half of the trip was him in the van and me driving his bougie truck. We had walkie talkies so even though we were separated for 5+ hours we could still make comments to each other the whole way. It was a delight.

Expand full comment

Hello to all! First time commenting. This little space has meant so much to me since I found it. And when I got the email about comfortable together I signed up right away but havenā€™t gotten any emails with content since. So I probably did it wrong didnā€™t I? I totally forgot it started this week (such is life with two toddlers). Any tips on figuring out if I actually joined? All I have is an Apple Pay receipt saying I did pay for something. šŸ¤·šŸ¼ā€ā™€ļø

Also I realize the comments section is not the place to figure this out but I have 10 minutes of alone time and I have used it all searching for another way. I am not technology/internet literate. Should I just directly email Erin? My email is ansleymcknight@gmail if anyone can help!

Expand full comment

As someone who has literally received actual hate mail, like someone put pen to paper, found a stamp, walked to the dang mail box to mail me a letter about all the ways Iā€™m a garbage person I love the list. Just because we donā€™t agree, lead with grace. It doesnā€™t hurt I promise. Assume the best, you wonā€™t break. Also letā€™s stop assuming people are dumb and they didnā€™t research whatā€™s best FOR THEM.

I have so few treasures this week but I know they exist. My thyroid hormone medication dose is being adjusted and itā€™s made me feel like a salted slug. Tonight is family night. We eat chicken wings and I make a salad bar, we all pick out movie candy from the candy bin and watch one episode of the umbrella academy. This plan for tonight is what is holding me together today.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Erin H Moon

Hiii šŸ‘‹šŸ» Long time lurker, first time commenter. My mid-Southern background has told me I cannot participate if I'm not going to contribute, but this week I remembered two things!

- Oral History of the Office on Spotify https://open.spotify.com/episode/754gQ0B99INeV484FQB5vm?si=XOwcbUzzSBWm9ooWpCD6Zw

I doubled over laughing 8 seconds into the first episode (when I realized I was listening to the host Brian Baumgartner, who plays Kevin, whose real voice is v v different from his character's), and I laughed out loud every single episode. I teared up every episode. I was mentally transported from 2020. It's a win.

- Sweet Potato Snickerdoodles from the Kitchn https://www.thekitchn.com/sweet-potato-snickerdoodle-recipe-23079001

You will need 2 sticks of butter and an s-word loaf of sugar for these cookies, but they also contain a super food. They are perfectly salty-sweet-savory, and I want to eat them all. I'm sneak eating one right now before my kids wake up, and they are real good with coffee, too.

Also, an internet engagement rule I would submit for discussion is to comment with the intent to have a conversation. When we say, "well, actually, sjsbeks djdjevebsjs ejdjsjdnve MIC DROPPPP šŸ—£ļøšŸ—£ļøšŸ—£ļø," we boost our own ego, but it's not furthering a dialogue. I am exhausted by mic drop as a style of communication. We cannot just mic drop one another back and forth forever.

Happy Friday! šŸ’›

Expand full comment

Thank you for being a human who teaches other humans to be nice humans. I need a good dose of optimistic logic every day.

Expand full comment